OBGYN Idaho Falls - Patient Education Article.

Food Guide

The Food Guide Pyramid emphasizes foods from the five food groups shown in the pyramid.

Obgyn Idaho Falls - Food Pyramid diagram

Each of these food groups provides some, but not all of the nutrients you need. Foods in one group can’t replace those in another.  No one food group is more important than another for good health.  You need them all.

The pyramid is an outline of what to eat each day.  It is not a rigid prescription, but a general guide that lets you choose a healthful diet that is right for you.  The pyramid calls for eating a variety of foods to get the nutrients you need and at the same time the right amount of calories to maintain a healthy weight.

How Much is One-Serving?

The amount you eat may be more than one-serving. For example, a dinner portion of spaghetti would count as 2 or 3 servings from the bread/cereal/rice/pasta group.

Bread/Cereal/Rice/Pasta Vegetable Fruit Milk/Yogurt/Cheese Meat/Poultry/Beans/Eggs Fats/ Oils Sweets
1 Slice Bread 1 C Raw 1 med piece fresh fruit 1 C Milk or Yogurt 3 oz. meat, poultry, fish USE SPARINGLY
½ C Rice or Pasta, cooked ½ C Cooked ½ C canned 1 oz. natural Cheese The following are = 1 oz. meat 1 tsp Margarine
½ C Cereal, cooked ¼ C dried ½ C beans, cooked 1 egg
1 oz. cold Cereal, check the label ¾ C Juice 1 egg Dressing
2 Tbs peanut butter 1 tsp sugar

Lean Cuts Of Beef

  • Eye Round
  • Top Round
  • Tip Round
  • Top Sirloin
  • Top Loin Roast
  • Beef Tenderloin
  • Flank
  • Ground, 90-95% lean Sirloin Roast

Lean Cuts of Pork

  • Tenderloin
  • Boneless Sirloin Chop
  • Boneless Top Loin Roast
  • Boneless Top Loin Chop
  • Loin Chop
  • Rib Chop
  • Boneless Rib Roast
  • Sirloin Roast